Tags

, , , , , ,

Australian Open of Surfing

Laura Enever © ASP / Dunbar

The Australian Open of Surfing kicked off at Manly Beach, bringing the top women professional surfers to this 6-Star ASP World Tour event. The women posted impressive scores of 17 points and above out of a possible 20 points in their heats, looking reenergized after a long break in competition.

This event marks the first time that many of the women reunite and compete since last year’s world tour events.

Manly Beach

Coco Ho © ASP

“These are the best waves I’ve ever had at Manly!” Australian Laura Enever said, who is a local of Sydney Northern Beaches. “It’s been a long time since my last heat last year, so I started to prepare early this year because I remember how fast it all goes. I guess that preparation has paid off because I felt good. I had a clear mind and felt like I was surfing well, so I’m stoked to start the year off that way. It’s also great to have the hometown support with friends and family here on the beach.”

Sage Erickson

Sage Erickson © ASP

Lakey Peterson of Santa Barbara, California is known for putting on a show. She proved that her competitive edge hasn’t wavered since last putting on a jersey in August of 2011 after quickly jumping from fourth to first place during the last five minutes of her heat.

“This is actually where I leant to surf when I was 5-years-old at Manly Surf school,” Peterson said. “I love coming back here because it’s where I stood up on my first wave and it brings back great memories. That heat was scary, I was never in the right spot, but I’m stoked to get the score. I’m just hoping I’ve had my bad start, and that it’s all up from here.”

Tyler Wright

Tyler Wright © ASP

Watch the event live and see the action unfold

